Life After Loyola

ImageHello to all the Greyhound blog followers!

To kick things off, I’d like to talk about my transition. To put it simply, despite my excitement and love for the game, it was not an easy one. I have been a homebody for the majority of my life. Loyola is close to my hometown, and became one of the reasons I chose to become a Greyhound. Making the transition to move halfway across the world was difficult. Leaving my family at airport security, knowing I wouldn’t see them for many months made getting on the plane much harder, but I love basketball and knew I had to seize my opportunity to play professionally.

ImageI ended up getting a sinus infection, making my first week in Germany a little more hectic. I fought through the cold and homesickness to power through my first week.

My teammates and fans have all been very welcoming and have helped me through the language barrier. I have gotten used to it now after living here for almost two months, but the first few weeks had my head spinning. My first trip to the grocery store was somewhat overwhelming. Everything was written in German and when I asked for help I felt like an actor. I was acting out all my questions to the grocery store employees. Talk about embarrassing! I’ve finally gotten into a routine, and things are much easier now.Image

Having fellow American teammates made the transition much easier. We all get along really well, and it’s nice to have someone to talk to who is going through the same excitement and challenges as myself.

At the beginning of the season we didn’t get much down time to travel, but as soon as we had a weekend free I took complete advantage of it! My teammates and I took a road trip to Koln, Brussels and Amsterdam. It was so much fun! I would definitely recommend getting an authentic Belgian waffle from Brussels.

Living in Germany opens a lot of opportunities for me to travel and experience different parts of the world that I never thought were possible. I’m very grateful for my opportunity and future here. It’s a privilege to continue to play the sport I love, while creating opportunities to get out of my comfort zone and explore the world.  I know this opportunity would not have been possible without the support from my family, friends and Loyola family. All the support has prepared me and gotten me to where I am today. I’m very thankful to everyone.

My team, the Giro Live Panthers are currently 3-1. We play a game every weekend, and each game is broadcast live on dbbl.de. Check us out!

Image                                                                                                            Katie Sheahin                                                                                 Loyola Women’s Basketball ‘13

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

