New York State of Mind

Coach Booth half court hook shot

All of us at dinner at Olive Garden.

Hello again!

I can’t wait to fill you all in with the busy week we have had as Loyola University athletes.

Classes began on Tuesday for everyone, which makes me a little sad that our nice, relaxing break has come to an end. This semester I will be taking psychology, linear algebra, microeconomics, my second theology and statistics. I wasn’t too nervous with my schedule before classes began, but after attending the first couple of classes, I started to worry that this semester will be difficult. It’s hard to believe I am almost half way done with college and need to start figuring out what I am going to do with my life.

Practices this week really focused on our defense. We continued to work on our help-the-helper defense and learned a lot about what Marist would do and how we could defend them. We spent a lot of time watching film on not only Marist, but also ourselves during practice. We wanted to fix our mistakes and actually see what we were doing wrong.

We left for Poughkeepsie, NY Thursday evening after practice. We took a pit stop at The Olive Garden, which was very good with the endless breadsticks and salad. Well now I sound like a huge fatty, but it was so good. We were given the option of 4 different dinner choices so we could order ahead and speed up the dining process.

We made it to the hotel later that night and I was assigned to be Alyssa’s roommate for the night! We made it to our room and immediately made tea, because we are both obsessed. I go to pull the tray with all of the coffee and tea supplies out of a cabinet, not realizing the tray wasn’t connected to the shelf, and all of the glasses and sugars fell to the floor. Within 5 minutes of being in the hotel room, I had already shattered a glass and played 52 pick-up with the sugars and coffee supplies. Thankfully Jim from maintenance helped us clean up all of the broken glass.

The next day, we faced the Marist Red Foxes. Our game was showed on ESPNU, which made us all really excited to play the number one team in the league and show the world what Loyola Women’s basketball is capable of. Marist ended up making a run in the second half, going up a large amount, but we fought our way back and cut the lead to 5 with about 30 seconds to go. The red foxes were able to hold onto their lead and defeat us 70-62.

After the Marist game, we made our way to the next hotel. I got Kat as my roommate for the next two nights. Our hotel was really nice and had a few other teams staying there as well. The Cornell men’s basketball team was there, and I’m not going to lie, they happened to be very good looking, so of course everyone had their eyes on them.

The next morning we were given the option to go to breakfast in the morning, so Kat thought of the best idea ever- breakfast in bed. We went down to get the food and brought it all back up to our rooms where we laid in bed and ate, just like I used to do when I was younger on special occasions.

Later that day we took a trip to Manhattan College for practice. Gless thought it was funny to take a picture of all of us girls watching the Manhattan’s men’s basketball team during their practice, which was right before ours. After I got changed for practice in the locker room, I came out and saw that all of the coaches were checking out the men’s team, the same way we were only a few minutes earlier, so I got some payback and was sneaky enough to capture a picture of all of them.

We really focused on our offense against the 1-3-1 zone the entire practice. We knew we needed to be strong with the ball, handle to traps, and make shots. I give Manhattan credit for playing that zone the entire game, after one practice of being the top of the 1-3-1, my legs were dead and I was thoroughly exhausted. I couldn’t wait to get back to the hotel and relax in my big, comfortable bed. Lights out was at 10:30, and it didn’t take too long after that for me to fall asleep.

We faced the Manhattan Jaspers the next day. We were able to leave NY with a win, defeating the Jaspers 59-45. Miriam ended the game with a career high of 25 points and Katie led the game in assists with 7. Overall, it was an awesome road win, and we got our revenge from our last game against them, where they pretty much embarrassed us on our home court. Our win brought our ranking up to 4th in the MAAC.

This weekend we will be facing Canisius and Niagara on the road. Stay tuned in and support the Loyola Women’s basketball team!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

