Krusen Around The World – Part 1

*Senior guard Nicole Krusen is traveling to Europe this summer, follow her posts as she blogs about her experience.

ImageGuten tag!! Hello! So part of being a business major at Loyola requires you to complete some sort of international study. I am fortunate enough to be able to go on a 13 day European tour with 25 of my classmates from Loyola. We left for our first stop, Munich, Germany, from BWI on Sunday afternoon. The first plane we took was a really small plane with only 10 rows, so it was a little bumpy ride (kind of reminded me of a roller coaster ride a little). We connected in Toronto, Canada and then flew through the night on a huge plane with over 300 people on it to Munich.

First stop… Munich, Germany!  We arrived in Munich around 10am (German time) so it was really like 4am East coast time. So to say the least we were all exhausted and jet lagged when we arrived, but we survived and I think we are all finally used to or semi adjusted to the time change. Once we arrived in Munich, our professor took us to the train station to exchange our money and grab some lunch. Here we got our first taste of authentic German food!!! I had a weisswurst or a white sausage. When people say foreign food is always better in the actual country they are not kidding. It was the best weisswurst I have ever had and I’ve been eating them since I was a little kid because I’m part German so my grandparents

Image

make German food occasionally. After we ate, Professor Klink took us on a small tour of Marienplatz, which is the heart of Munich. Marienplatz is like a big plaza with tons of shops, restaurants, businesses, a few historical sites, music, and lots and lots of people just hanging out. We got to see the glockenspiel and the inside of a few churches.  One thing in Europe is that people walk or bike everywhere. There is a bike path right next to the sidewalk so you have to be really careful because bikers don’t slow down and they will hit you. I can’t even say how many times my friends and I almost got hit by bikers and had to jump or get pulled out of the way. The first night in Munich the whole group went out to dinner at Löwenbräu, which is an authentic German restaurant down the street from our hotel. Here I got to have my favorite German food of all time, Knödel, which is a German potato dumpling. It was even better than I hoped and expected. So as expected I was super excited. All the food was amazing! To start my days, I would go for nice run around the town, so I got to see a lot of different places and sites that I probably wouldn’t have seen. Every morning we had breakfast in the hotel and it was not your typical American breakfast. Instead there were various types of breads, meats, and cheeses. It took a little getting used to but it was pretty good. For our first site visit, we went to the BMW Welt and Museum. It was cool to see the history of BMW and all the cars from the past and today. A majority of the cars people drove were BMW cars which was pretty cool because even though they were all same brand they we still so different. After BMW, we took a trip to the Dachau Concentration Camp. I personally loved this visit! It was really interesting, but also very sad (as one could expect). We were able to walk around on our own and see where the prisoners were kept at the camp and get a sense of what really happened during the12 years the camp was running. A few things we saw were the execution centers within the camp, the bunkers where inmates lived, their living quarters, and some monuments that have been build since liberation. I learned a lot about the torture they endured. Later that night we all went downtown to the famous Hofbräuhaus, where we got to try some famous Bavarian pretzels.

The next day we had a meeting at Adobe headquarters in Munich. A few workers talked to us about the company and their different products. After our meeting they served us a typical Bavarian lunch, which consisted of pretzels, potato salad, bread, and meat. After adobe we got the rest of the day free. Two of my friends and I went to a traditional German bakery and had Apfelstrudel or apple strudel. The pastries are some of the best ever! A group of about 12 of us later went to visit Olympiapark, where the 1972 Olympics were held. It was so much fun! We went to the top of this huge hill and from there we could see the entire park, Munich, and even the Alps in the distance. While we were at the park I went in this big blow up hamster ball on the lake in the center of the park. I would keep trying to run on water in this ball but would keep falling.

ImageIt was funny to see videos of myself wiping out (I wasn’t very good at it). On our last night in Munich, a group of us went to dinner at a local restaurant and then our entire group went to see a traditional Munich beer garden. We walked across town to the Englischer Garten, which is a large public park with many surrounding restaurants in downtown Munich. We also saw the US embassy on the way… I tried to take a picture of it but got yelled at in German by the authorities (oops..). Thursday we said goodbye to Munich and made our way to Innsbruck, Austria. I honestly can’t believe that this is day 5 in Europe and we are on our way to our second city.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

