Where in the World is Coach Gless – Part 1

Image

Hello from BWI Airport! This is Coach Glessner, and I am going to be writing some blog posts while I’m traveling for the next two weeks. I am packed up and ready to board the plane to Romania for the Division A World Championships. As the rest of the staff will be stateside recruiting, I am going to check out some international prospects that could help out the Greyhounds in the future. I will be checking in periodically to keep you updated on my trip. After a few days in Romania, I am headed to London for the Olympics. It still hasn’t hit me yet that I will physically be there. I was getting the chills watching the opening ceremonies. To me, the Olympics is the best sporting event in the world. Elite athletes who have trained for years get to show the their skills to an international audience. I can’t think of anything more enjoyable to watch.

 

I was fortunate enough to continue my basketball career after I graduated from Loyola in 2007, playing two years in England. I will be reunited with my old teachers and coaches once I arrive in the UK. Thanks to Facebook and Skype, I have been able to keep in touch with them since I left. I am excited to see them all and catch up on old times. When I left in 2009, my coach, Leanne, said, “Don’t you worry. I will see you in 2012 for the Olympics.” I didn’t think much of it at the time, but she definitely pulled through and got us tickets to the quarterfinal and semifinal women’s basketball games. Right now I have a free day in London, and am hoping to score some tickets to the beach volleyball finals. If not I will be touring around the Olympic village trying to find Michael Phelps or David Beckham J

 

P.S. Check out the currency in Romania (above)… it is called “Lei.” That’s your fun fact for the day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

